Dark Chocolate, Pomegranate and Almond Tart

Dark Chocolate, Pomegranate and Almond Tart |Rivka's Kitchen

The other day I was cleaning my kitchen and in order to expedite the process, I found that my best plan of attack would be to eat everything and anything in eye’s view and arm’s reach. Thus, the idea for this tart was born.

As I put a handful of pomegranate seeds in my mouth with my left hand, by the divine intervention of some spirit from above, my right hand reached for a Godiva truffle. For a minute, I thought I made a ground breaking discovery, chocolate and pomegranate, the new chocolate and potato chips.

Proud of my newfound pairing, I could not wait to spread the news to friends, but mostly anyone willing to listen. However, as quickly as my excitement rose, it was just as quickly shattered. Turns out Trader Joe’s had been aware of this for quite a while and I was just a late attendee to the pomegranate and dark chocolate party. I guess that’s what six years of living abroad will do to you – make you completely and totally unaware of outdated food trends. How do I combat this? By making my own tart, duh.

Dark Chocolate, Pomegranate and Almond Tart | Rivka's Kitchen

Dark Chocolate, Pomegranate and Almond Tart | Rivka's Kitchen

Dark Chocolate, Pomegranate and Almond Tart | Rivka's Kitchen

Dark Chocolate, Pomegranate and Almond Tart

Serves 6-8

  • 3 Tbsp slivered blanched almonds
  • 6 Tbsp sugar
  • 1 and 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons lemon zest
  • 85 g. (3 oz.) unsalted butter, cold and cut into pieces
  • 340 g. (12 oz.) high quality bittersweet chocolate, coarsely chopped
  • 1 and 1/4 cups heavy cream
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 3/4 cup pomegranate seeds
  1. Preheat the oven to 175C (350F). To make the dough: in a food processor pulse the almonds until they are finely ground. Make sure not to over do it, or it will begin to turn into a paste. Add the sugar, flour, zest and salt and pulse until combined. Add the butter, pulsing until coarse crumbs form.
  2. Transfer the dough to a 9-inch tart pan with a removable bottom. Press the dough evenly in the bottom and up the sides of the pan.
  3. Bake until golden brown and firm to the touch (approximately 20 minutes). Transfer to a wire rack to cool completely.
  4. To make the ganache: place the chocolate in a mixing bowl. In a small saucepan, bring the cream to a boil. Pour the hot cream over the chocolate and stir until smooth and creamy. Mix in the vanilla.
  5.  Pour the chocolate mixture in the center of the cooled tart shell. If the chocolate is lumpy, pass it through a sieve. Chill in the fridge until set (about 1 hour).
  6. Once the chocolate has set, distribute the pomegranate seeds evenly over the tart. Enjoy!

Recipe adapted from Martha Stewart.

Leave a Reply

